Celebrating 50 Years of Keeping an Eye on Maine Lakes through Community Science

Saturday, July 24


Due to COVID-19 the 2021 Lake Stewards of Maine Annual Conference took place only online. Please watch the video below for the full conference or watch any of the conference excerpts. Thank you!


Saturday, July 24, 9 AM – 12:30 PM

9:00 Welcome and Opening Remarks
          Bill Monagle; past President and current Vice President, LSM Board of Directors
          Scott Williams; Executive Director, LSM
9:15 Barb Welch; President, LSM Board of Directors
9:20 Matt Scott; Founder Maine Department of Environmental Protection (Maine DEP) Lakes Program; VLMP (LSM) Visionary
9:40 Melanie Loyzim; Commissioner, Maine DEP
9:50 Hilary Snook; Senior Scientist, US EPA Region 1
10:05 Dave Courtemanch; former Division Leader, Maine DEP Lakes Program; current staff, The Nature Conservancy
10:10 Steve Norton; Professor Emeritus, University of Maine; LSM Advisory Board member
10:20 Linda Bacon; Program Leader, Maine DEP Lakes Program; LSM Board of Directors
10:25 Peter Fischer; past President, LSM Board of Directors
10:30 Break
10:45 Volunteer LSM “Selfie” Videos
10:55 Maine Field Guide to Aquatic Phenomena app
11:00 Matching Grant Challenge
Mike Cloutier; LSM Lake Monitor, LSM Development Committee
          Bob French; LSM Lake Monitor, LSM Board of Directors
11:30 Volunteer Recognition
12:30 Final Remarks

LSM 2021  Annual Conference Excerpt Scott Williams

  • Executive Director LSM
  • Staff Limnologist
  • Volunteer Trainer LSM
  • Lake Biologist

LSM 2021 Annual Conference Excerpt Matt Scott

  • LSM Advisory Board
  • Founder of the Maine DEP Lakes Program in 1970 and of Lake Stewards of Maine, VLMP at that time, in 1971.

LSM 2021 Annual Conference Excerpt Dave Courtemanch

  • Former Director of the Division of Environmental Assessment, Maine DEP
  • Freshwater Scientist, Maine Chapter of the Nature Conservancy

LSM 2021 Annual Conference Excerpt Steve Norton

  • LSM Advisory Board
  • Professor Emeritus in the School of Earth and Climate Sciences, University of Maine

LSM 2021 Annual Conference Excerpt Linda Bacon

  • Maine DEP Lakes program since 1988
  • Steering committee member for LSM’s Transition from the government to NGO
  • LSM Board of Directors
  • Quality assurance officer for the water quality monitoring branch of LSM


Scroll to Top

©2024 all content, unless otherwise specified, copyright by Lake Stewards of Maine.